Month: April 2011

  • Makin’ Out and Lyrics

    I’ve always been a big fan of Pomplamoose for making songs that I find “meh” sooo much better…

    However, they introduced me to a song I hadn’t heard before I heard Pomplamoose’s cover.
    “Makin’ Out” by Mark Owen is seriously one of my new favorite songs.
    I tend to love music primarily based on lyrics.
    I mean an artist or band has to be able to sing it well, and I usually lean towards great percussion, bass and good harmonies/melodies…
    But a song can sound great and have atrocious lyrics.
    As a writer this appalls me.
    Lyrics are fundamental.

    This is why I LOVE the song “Makin’ Out”
    I like Mark Owen’s original for a more upbeat version and I like Pomplamoose’s cover for a more romantic, slower version – because the lyrics are just beautiful!
    To me, they define a real committed relationship.
    A realistic loving marriage with the humanity and without all the Disney.

    So here are the lyrics, as well the YouTube links to both versions for those of you who haven’t heard this song! :)

    LYRICS:

    I’ll be the one who brings you coffee when you can’t get up
    I’ll be the one who turns the light out when you go to sleep
    I’ll be the one who turns your stomach into something else
    and you say shut up, shut up, every time I say

    I’ll be the one who takes your coat off, one to take the blame
    I’ll be the one you call your lover, every now and then
    You’ll be the one who keeps me sober, one to keep me sane
    and you say shut up, shut up, every time I say it

    And I’d cut my fingers to the bone,
    I’d split my sides in for you

    Tonight, we throw ourselves away
    We make it every time
    I thought I was okay
    You said I was alright
    As the night comes crashing down
    We catch ourselves a line
    We’re only makin’ out
    We’re makin’ out alright

    I’ll be the one who stands beside you in the photograph
    I’ll be the one that’s in your water when you want me there
    I’ll be the one you’re falling over every time you laugh
    and you say shut up, shut up, every time I say

    I’ll be the one who keeps you guessing, who swears a lot
    I’ll be the one that left your color in the white wash
    You’ll be the one who knocks a man out I was beating up
    and you say shut up, shut up, every time I say it

    And you cut my face, I told you so
    I’d tear my eyes out for you

    Tonight, we throw ourselves away
    We make it every time
    I thought I was okay
    You said I was alright
    As the night comes crashing down
    We catch ourselves a line
    We’re only makin’ out
    We’re makin’ out alright

    Pomplamoose Cover:

    http://youtu.be/PNqG4GHWnQ8

    Mark Owen Original:

    http://youtu.be/9osrJM2hScE

  • Four Holes

    Quick update.
    I have 4 holes in me.
    They are healing.
    The belly button one hurts the most ironically since that just seems like a non-violent body part.

    Main complaint?
    Exhaustion.
    I am tired all the time.
    The other day I woke up at 8:30am after sleeping all night for about 11 hours. I feel asleep again at around 10am and didn’t wake up until nearly 2pm.
    I am exhausted.

    Main reason to rejoice?
    No more freaking gall bladder issues.
    I survived the surgery and the worst is behind me.
    About a week or so more of healing and I should be feeling fantastic.

    On a positive note… I am watching the entire Season 6 of 24…. I am having lots of quality time with my kitties… and I am too weak to manage doing the dishes, so…. yay. :)

    More to come later when I am feeling up to it.
    A few HD pictures of my insides…. some details…. etc.

    Happy Easter! :)

  • Springtime

    Spring.
    I decided I need a more positive blog post, so here you have it.
    I am ecstatic that it is finally springtime.

    Warmer temps.
    Trees budding with flowers.
    The smell of fresh cut grass.
    Thunderstorms.
    Rain.
    Still cold enough to enjoy a cup of coffee, but warm enough to have iced tea constantly in stock in the fridge.
    Spring!
    It’s like God hugging you after you’ve been locked in a freezer for 7 years.
    It is warmth to my soul.

    School will be over in 3.2 weeks.
    Surgery to follow that unless something happens to cause me to get surgery sooner than later.
    (I’m still toying with that idea.)
    Summer brings friends visiting.
    Camping trips.
    New jobs.
    Making more disposable income.
    House projects.
    Large reading lists.
    Movie lists.
    Paintings that need painting.

    But for now, I will enjoy Spring…. The homework… the rain…. the growth…. and the warmth….