February 23, 2011

  • Invisible

    This blog is mine.
    It is sometimes used for silly thing or life updates.
    Other times it is therapeutic.
    This is one of those times.

    I felt invisible today.
    Have you ever felt unseen? Overlooked? Unnecessary?
    I did today.
    I am not whining or fishing for sympathy –
    Though I feel entitled to both right now.

    It kind of started last night.
    Chad’s been working late because he is behind and his big class week starts next Monday.
    Not his fault, but a few lonesome evenings.
    Last night I tried to call my older brother.
    When we were very young he was my best friend – sometimes he felt like my only friend.
    I even tell people I want to have a baby boy first just because I cherished having an older brother and I want my kids to have the same experience.
    Lately distance and apathy has drifted us apart, but I never stopped loving him as my older brother.
    Anyway, I tried calling him.
    He had a bad day and I thought I could cheer him up or just be there for him.
    I thought, surely if anyone could make him feel better it would be his sister.
    He wouldn’t even talk to me.
    *insert knife*
    I even had his wife put me on speaker phone and I told him I loved him and wanted to talk.
    He walked out of the room.
    *twist knife*

    That might not sound like a big deal to you, or perhaps even a little dramatic…. but I was hurt.
    I felt the distance between us like a never ending desert.
    Suddenly I felt the distance between me and everyone I hold dear exponentially.

    I went to bed determined to feel better in the morning…

    This morning I went to my first class and that is when the invisibility started.
    My teacher asked a question, I raised my hand first… She looked right at me and then called on another student.
    What the?
    Oh well… moving on…
    I went on a walk to feel better…. and I did enjoy myself on my walk…
    But then in my next class the same thing happened.
    Then I began placing the desks back where they’re supposed to go – in rows.
    (We place ours in a circle for our class)
    I had moved like 3 desks, but this other kid moved one and the teacher made a big deal out of it.
    Said we should all follow his example and how proud she was of him helping.
    Ugh.
    Next class.
    Favorite teacher.
    Same frickin’ thing.
    Raised hand – not called on.
    Asked everyone in the class to share what they had brought to class, except me.
    Forgot to ask me.
    Forgot I was even there.

    Now, I know this sounds melodramatic and even a little self-indulgent….
    But it does not negate how these things made me feel.
    I was alone all day, and unnoticed on top of that.
    My brother doesn’t even want to talk to me.
    I have one friend in KC, but we hardly see each other.
    The people who know me (besides Chad) live out of state.
    And
    It
    HURTS.
    It hurts like hell.

    It’s that ache that builds up inside you until you can’t stop the dam of tears breaking and the superficial facade falling down. I cried on the drive home despite my best efforts to contain my tears. I cried when I got home. I posted a short status on Facebook about feeling invisible only to get sarcastic or insensitive comments from 90% of the people who commented. I hate Facebook sometimes.

    I just want a hug from someone who knows me and doesn’t need me to explain anything.
    I want to feel seen and wanted and necessary in tangible ways.
    I want someone to understand me and accept me for me – with all my emotions, complications and flaws.

    That’s all.

Comments (2)

  • I feel the same way a lot of the time. I moved to St Louis when I got married nearly 4 years ago and I have made several “friends” but they have come and gone. All the people who truly know my heart (besides the hubs) live out of state. I struggle with the loneliness often. I always seem to be the one who can detect this feeling in anyone and make them feel better, but no one seems to be able to do that for me. I’m sorry you went through this, your feelings are totally validated. I know words don’t always work, but at least know I understand completely!!

  • This breaks my heart.

    Part of you wants to go back and understand for each situation how it is that everything went down the way it did. How did so many people overlook you and your actions? What variables caused the perfect storm of your apparent non-presence. Then the other part of you may want to just move on, because you know better – They didn’t really not know you were there, and they didn’t purposefully overlook your participation and effort. Nothing about them, nor the day, itself, was out to get you. So you want to scream and yet truly understand at the same moment.

    That’s the feeling that makes people not want to exist – I know. Weird thing is, reflecting later on even thinking that in the first place hurts more and hits you more suddenly, whether it be 10 minutes later or 10 years later.
    -Colby

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *