January 24, 2011

  • Suffocating Heart

    Yesterday some very, VERY close friends of mine experienced a tragedy.
    They are in intense pain, therefore, so am I.
    My heart aches alongside them.
    Their 4 month old baby, Seth died unexpectedly.
    Doctors assume it is SIDS.
    SIDS cannot be explained or prevented.
    It just happens.
    I don't know why it happened to them.
    I hate that it happened to them.
    Not that anyone would ever deserve such a tragedy, but especially not this family.
    They just deserve the very best happiness... not this.
    I couldn't shake my sorrow yesterday.

    I can only rest knowing that God is sovereign and good.
    Seth is in the arms of Jesus.
    Despite their present pain, Brian and Angie are also being held closely in the arms of Jesus.
    I still don't understand it with my frail human mind... but I don't need to.
    Praying for them has become a priority for me.
    If you could say one for them too, I'd appreciate it.

    * * *

    I am haunted by my love for comparison
    My fascination with a single common theme
    And I am hounded by the fear that I might be losing it
    Slipping from reality into dream

    When my mind is muddled by the way it seems to work
    I start looking for just one connecting Force
    Someone to assure me we that didn't lose the war today
    That the battle's General's still riding on his horse

    In the mornings when I pray, I've often come to You with dreams
    Little bits of power that I can't comprehend
    And sometimes I can keep my eyes unclosed for long enough
    To see the blowing of a distant steady Wind

    The distance doesn't take too long for You to cover it
    And when You reach me, You just blow these things apart
    You clear the crowd that's gathered 'round the crisis of my soul
    And whisper to my suffocating heart

    "And" is the juice of the joints of the motion of life
    "And" is the love that is between God and His beautiful wife
    "And" has two hands and two feet and a long, lovely side
    "And" rose three days after He was crucified

    So You're the Force of gravity that I feel pulling at my feet
    You're the Fuel at the center of the sun
    And, it's your Ghost that fills the atmosphere with what we need to breathe
    And, everything I've ever wondered, You're the one

    Both my hands are stained with blood
    And both my lips are stained with tears
    From when I kissed the widow of the man I killed
    And, yet You're asking me to swallow Your forgiveness here today
    You say the bond required for my pardon's been fulfilled

    "And" is the juice of the joints of the motion of life
    "And" is the love that is between God and His beautiful wife
    "And" has two hands and two feet and a long, lovely side
    "And" rose three days after He was crucified

    - "And" by Waterdeep

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment