January 28, 2011

  • “Look at me! I’m Naked!”

    This morning in my 8am class, it got so ridiculously funny that it would be hard to believe it happened at all.

    My teacher is Dr. Denny.
    My teacher is hilarious.
    My teacher is brilliant.
    The class?
    Literary Theory and Criticism.
    The text?
    “The Secret Sharer” by Joseph Conrad.
    The criticism?
    Psychoanalytic Criticism.

    So… you take a story written a long time ago about a young ship Captain who harbors a murderous fugitive within his quarters simply because he is lonely and there is an underlying sense of homo-erotic attraction, combined with a class room comprised of 90% women…..combined with psychoanalytic “Freudism” Criticism discussion….

    And you get a lot of jokes.

    Everything from my teacher saying,
    “Look at me! I’m naked!” (paraphrasing the book) as another faculty member walked by!

    …to the class causing him to blush (a grand feat in and of itself!) by laughing uncontrollably when he said,

    “I know when I am getting screwed…. even if I am not being kissed!”
    (after we asked him to bring us breakfast next week)

    The rest of the morning was a serious of muted snickers and giggles… and mumbled “That’s what she said.”
    All completely in good humor and disruptive.
    The atmosphere was conducive for it this particular morning. :)

    It probably doesn’t make a lot of sense reading it here, but I would have given anything to have a video camera in the classroom with me this morning.
    I’ve never laughed so hard or so much, within an academic setting. :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *